[DISCUSSION] Stablecoin in collaboration with a listed company

This proposal is authored by Diegoebasta - I am an amateur financial analyst and have written some articles for the financial blog Seeking Alpha under the pseudonym “Atom Research”;

BACKGROUND
PayPal Holdings has recently made a significant move by introducing its own stablecoin. This development represents the first entry of a prominent credit services public company into the cryptocurrency market and it has garnered substantial media attention; it is likely that other financial public companies may decide to create their own stablecoin to get their share of profits from investing cash reserves - obtained by selling crypto to their users - into government bonds, that given current interest rates, yield up to 5% p.a.
Paypal has created a stablecoin with many flaws, using an old version of solidity and with questionable functions that allow Paypal to freeze user assets; additionally, it has been launched on Ethereum and, given the large number of Paypal users (400 million), if only a few million will transition, this may cause clogging of the Ethereum chain and higher gas fees. Given these flaws, better technical solutions may surclass Paypal’s stablecoin.

PROPOSAL
Leveraging on its large treasury as a guarantee of reliability and stability, Mantle DAO should propose a notable public company such as Western Union, Discover Financial Services or Capital One Financial (or even Visa and Mastercard!) to develop a stablecoin on the Mantle Network, discussing all the mutual benefits in terms of visibility and possible profits, and how a stablecoin on a Layer 2 and with a better smartcontract would overcome all the flaws related to Paypal’s coin and would represent a formidable competition to PayPal in the crypto sector.

SUPPORTING INFORMATION